Tipping Point: Office Politics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tipping Point: Office Politics

SO here's the deal. Ive been working for a business solutions company for 5 months at a reinsurance company. I have been doing pretty well but I have some serious issues with the company

1. I applied for a position within the reinsurance company because I was being crosstrained on many of the duties and positions withing the company. I was then told that because of a non compete agreement (our business solutions offer similar services in relation to scanning), I would probably never be able to work there.

2. I have no room for advancement. We are the only team on the west coast, much less seattle for the busienss solutions contract. There is nowhere to go up to because of this, unless I trransfer to the east coast (which I am pondering) This zaps a lot of my motivation for working there. I also think that part of the problem is that I have no long term work objectives or duties with the company. My daily work is my only work and It pisses me off.

3. My bosses liason to the reinsurance company is MIA 90% of the time and doesn't actually do a lot of the work shes supposed to. It falls on the rest of the people around her. This leads into point #2 which is theres a disaster recovery planning project that she is supposed to be working on but hasnt even started because shes been on short term medical leave for 4 months. After she came back from that she took another 3 weeks off lying about the reasons she missed work.

Example 1. She said the power was out at her hour. I actually called the puget sound power company and gave them the address and they said there had nopt been an outage in more than 2 weeks.

Example 2. She said that she was snowed in on monday yet the city she lives in recieved no snow.

I have no idea why she is still able to work here other than somehow beign a slut to one of the execs (this has happened before)