Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stacks: really newb question

Hey everyone;

I'm new to Civ, and I've got the Civ4 demo and am really enjoying it. I plan to get the full game soon; only 100 turns is maddening!

Anyways, I've been looking over the forums and I'm pretty comfortable with how the opening of a game flows, different techs to research, how to build opening units, etc.

Combat is fun, and obviously limited at this stage of the game, but I do have one question about stacks. I guess my question is: what's the big deal? I don't really see the advantage except for the fact that you just have a bunch of units on one tile. Combat progresses by unit, and I don't see any specific advantages of having lots of units on a single tile, so what's to be so excited about? Plus, it sounds like later in the game when you have artillery, a stack can be devastated by a single attack.

From what I've read in the forums, I must be missing something somewhere. Obviously, I don't have the manual or experience with previous Civ games. Thanks!

NW

You mean other than not being able to use more than 8 untis at a time? The quickest answer is stacks are about defense.

When a unit attacks the game will select the strongest defender and that's the combat. If you just had one unit per square that one unit would have to attack AND defend. It would quickly be overcome by even the smallest margin.

However, with a stack you can have units that are good defensively (like archers) and good offensivly (like swordsman) in the same stack and the archers can defend then, when it's your turn to attack you have nice fresh swordsmen to attack with.

There's also a stratagy of stacking weak First Strike units. That way any defense is met with a First Strike (albeit weak) and then moves on to the strongest defender (generally not the weak guy)... kind of like getting in a free shot before the fight starts.