Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Modifying and Hex editing MOO2

Hey guys.
    Found this forum through google, looking for information on how to mod MOO2.

I've found all the lbx editors, OCL, etc, and that lets me change some things.

The defensive anti blitz mod had a change via the hex editor that changed the number of space units for missile bases. I've had little experience (read: none) with hex editors. I understand what hexadecimal is, etc, but how would the creator of the mod found out that those values were the ones for the size of the missile base. It could not be trial and error, since the number of addresses is huge.

I'd like to be able to add a few new weapons/techs, increase the lifespan of the game a bit

Anyone have any experience with this kind of thing? I've read the other threads here, but thought we could use a newer one.

Peace
    Majestic

He likely found them by trial and error, thats how you find stuff unless you have some more tools at your disposal.

There wouldn't be all that many 300 values in the executable, since its 2 bytes, but get a strange enough number, and it cuts down on the guess and testing that you'd have to do. In his case its the 6th occurence of 2C 01 in the executable, so if he did guess and test, then he got lucky, I counted a bunch of them.

Comment

Perhaps I know less about hex than I thought (and I didn't think I knew much) but how does one identify 2C 01 as 300?
      By direct conversion you get 11,000 roughly.
      Converting it to decimal characters as two separate ones you get 44 and 1?

Sorry for my lack of understanding. The only editing i've done in past games has been in languages I could make sense of, rather than actually trying to understand the exe file

Comment