Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 82

Thread: Civ 2 for mac - graphically better than the windows version?

  1. #31
    Gatekeeper
    King Gatekeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Feb 2000
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2,371
    Country
    This is Gatekeeper's Country Flag
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    Hmm. I was under the impression that Civ II worked fine under the Classic environment in 10.3 (but not 10.2 or less).

    BTW, did the missile code I gave you help any (or will it down the road)?

    Gatekeeper
    "I may not agree with what you have to say, but I'll die defending your right to say it." Voltaire

    "Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart." Confucius

  2. #32
    FlameFlash
    Emperor FlameFlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    6,461
    Country
    This is FlameFlash's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    It does, but the newer computers don't come with OS 9.2 preinstalled so you have to track down a copy.

    That's why I want to try and figure out how to carbonize them.

    The missile code will help, I just haven't had any time to use it yet.
    I'm not conceited, conceit is a fault and I have no faults...

    As always, will play after work. I wonder if I'll ever be able to turn that the other way...

  3. #33
    Gatekeeper
    King Gatekeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Feb 2000
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2,371
    Country
    This is Gatekeeper's Country Flag
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    FlameFlash:

    That's odd. Earlier in this thread I was told that Civ II works smoothly in the Classic shell used by 10.3 to run older apps. But 10.2 and lower were rougher ...

    Gatekeeper
    "I may not agree with what you have to say, but I'll die defending your right to say it." Voltaire

    "Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart." Confucius

  4. #34
    FlameFlash
    Emperor FlameFlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    6,461
    Country
    This is FlameFlash's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    Nope, they still run smoothly here too (in X.2)

    The problem comes from the fact that the newer Macs don't have 9.2 pre-installed so the Classic shell is useless until you find a disk.
    I'm not conceited, conceit is a fault and I have no faults...

    As always, will play after work. I wonder if I'll ever be able to turn that the other way...

  5. #35
    finbar
    Emperor finbar's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Dec 1969
    Location
    Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
    Posts
    4,835
    Country
    This is finbar's Country Flag
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    19:40

    Sick

    Mine battled in 10.2 but flies in 10.3.
    " ... and the following morning I should see the Boks wallop the Wallabies again?" - Havak
    "The only thing worse than being quoted in someone's sig is not being quoted in someone's sig." - finbar, with apologies to Oscar Wilde.

  6. #36
    Gatekeeper
    King Gatekeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Feb 2000
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2,371
    Country
    This is Gatekeeper's Country Flag
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    Good grief. I'm going to a PC ...

    Let's see: 10.3 comes with a shell capable of emulating the 9.x environment, but unless you can find a copy of 9.x to install physically, the shell won't work?

    Gods almighty. Yep, I'm going to a PC or sticking with my ancient iMac 333mhz.

    Gatekeeper
    "I may not agree with what you have to say, but I'll die defending your right to say it." Voltaire

    "Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart." Confucius

  7. #37
    FlameFlash
    Emperor FlameFlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    6,461
    Country
    This is FlameFlash's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40


    Sorry to burst your bubble Gk...
    I'm not conceited, conceit is a fault and I have no faults...

    As always, will play after work. I wonder if I'll ever be able to turn that the other way...

  8. #38
    Insane
    Chieftain Insane's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Jan 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA, USA
    Posts
    59
    Country
    This is Insane's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    09:40
    Originally posted by FlameFlash
    Nope, they still run smoothly here too (in X.2)

    The problem comes from the fact that the newer Macs don't have 9.2 pre-installed so the Classic shell is useless until you find a disk.
    Try looking at the Software Install (Restore) disk.

    One of the options is to install the Classic environment. I just don't think they do it by default.

  9. #39
    FlameFlash
    Emperor FlameFlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    6,461
    Country
    This is FlameFlash's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    /me shrugs.

    All I know is that I'll be digging out my ol' OS 9 disk that came with my current system when I get a new one. I still have the 9.2.2 disk images too.
    I'm not conceited, conceit is a fault and I have no faults...

    As always, will play after work. I wonder if I'll ever be able to turn that the other way...

  10. #40
    Gatekeeper
    King Gatekeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Feb 2000
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2,371
    Country
    This is Gatekeeper's Country Flag
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    Huh. I was over at the MacCentral forums and the folks there said the Classic environment is more than enough to run older apps ... meaning you don't need the actual 9.x OS, the Classic shell is enough.

    Gatekeeper
    "I may not agree with what you have to say, but I'll die defending your right to say it." Voltaire

    "Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart." Confucius

  11. #41
    FlameFlash
    Emperor FlameFlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    6,461
    Country
    This is FlameFlash's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    Hang on... there's a Classic 'shell' as well?

    So theoretically I could uninstall OS 9 and everything would be okay?
    I'm not conceited, conceit is a fault and I have no faults...

    As always, will play after work. I wonder if I'll ever be able to turn that the other way...

  12. #42
    Gatekeeper
    King Gatekeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Feb 2000
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2,371
    Country
    This is Gatekeeper's Country Flag
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    That's the distinct impression I was left with ...
    "I may not agree with what you have to say, but I'll die defending your right to say it." Voltaire

    "Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart." Confucius

  13. #43
    FlameFlash
    Emperor FlameFlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    6,461
    Country
    This is FlameFlash's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    Well, when/if I get a new comp, I'll try it out prior to installing OS 9
    I'm not conceited, conceit is a fault and I have no faults...

    As always, will play after work. I wonder if I'll ever be able to turn that the other way...

  14. #44
    Gatekeeper
    King Gatekeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Feb 2000
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2,371
    Country
    This is Gatekeeper's Country Flag
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    Wouldn't it be kind of funny if, all this time, you've been installing OS9.x when it really wasn't needed?
    "I may not agree with what you have to say, but I'll die defending your right to say it." Voltaire

    "Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart." Confucius

  15. #45
    FlameFlash
    Emperor FlameFlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    6,461
    Country
    This is FlameFlash's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    Fortunately I haven't needed to as it just gets carried over to the next interation.
    I'm not conceited, conceit is a fault and I have no faults...

    As always, will play after work. I wonder if I'll ever be able to turn that the other way...

  16. #46
    Agathon
    Emperor Agathon's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Dec 2002
    Location
    Wal supports the CPA
    Posts
    3,947
    Country
    This is Agathon's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 23, 2014
    Local Time
    02:40
    Originally posted by FlameFlash
    Hang on... there's a Classic 'shell' as well?

    So theoretically I could uninstall OS 9 and everything would be okay?
    NO!!!!

    The classic shell uses OS 9. If you uninstall it Classic will not run. Newer macs cannot boot into OS 9, but if you trash the OS 9 system folder, Classic will not run.
    Only feebs vote.

  17. #47
    Gatekeeper
    King Gatekeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Feb 2000
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2,371
    Country
    This is Gatekeeper's Country Flag
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    See, this is part of the reason I'm seriously leaning *away* from ever getting another Macintosh. If I want to piss around with an OS that's always being upgraded and now, it seems, the MacOS has it's own security flaws, judging from recent Apple postings and continuing questions about how the Classic shell functions, I'd rather get a cheaper PC that, at the very least, has a lot of technical support available locally and online.

    Now, the newest Macs can't *boot* into OS9, but if you're running in X, and an app you have needs 9.x, the X can launch the *Classic shell* and run the app, correct?

    Frickin' computers. I think we can all agree on that.

    Gatekeeper
    "I may not agree with what you have to say, but I'll die defending your right to say it." Voltaire

    "Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart." Confucius

  18. #48
    Agathon
    Emperor Agathon's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Dec 2002
    Location
    Wal supports the CPA
    Posts
    3,947
    Country
    This is Agathon's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 23, 2014
    Local Time
    02:40
    Now is a really good time to get a new mac. Costs have come down and even the cheapest machines are very nice.

    You don't have to worry about the Classic Mode. I don't have a screenshot (since I got rid of it), but all that happens is that OS 9 boots up within OS X. It's exactly the same OS 9 and I know for a fact that it runs Civ II and SMAC. There are a few odd things it won't run, like old (pre OS X) versions of Quark and Photoshop but it will run everything else. It looks just like OS 9 too - you get the Classic menubar superimposed over the OS X menubar when you are using the Classic app. It's idiot proof. It's not like Virtual PC or anything like that - you don't have a separate Classic window.

    In short it doesn't make a difference whether or not you can boot into OS 9. Starting the Classic mode is booting into OS 9. The only functions that aren't available are things like printing - but that's because OS X handles all those - you can print from any OS 9 app and it works seamlessly.

    As for security flaws, there just aren't any serious ones. There are no viruses. Someone posted a "proof of concept" for a trojan, but it has not been released into the wild for the simple reason that it can't spread itself very effectively. Other than that there are really no serious problems. Windows on the other hand is a nightmare for this sort of thing.

    The Classic shell isn't "slow", it works just as well as the old OS 9 did.
    Only feebs vote.

  19. #49
    Agathon
    Emperor Agathon's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Dec 2002
    Location
    Wal supports the CPA
    Posts
    3,947
    Country
    This is Agathon's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 23, 2014
    Local Time
    02:40
    Don't listen to anyone who tells you that you need this or that. All Macs come with Classic installed AFAIK and if they don't they will come with a disk to install the Classic Environment. You will have no trouble at all running your old games on it. It just works.
    Only feebs vote.

  20. #50
    Agathon
    Emperor Agathon's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Dec 2002
    Location
    Wal supports the CPA
    Posts
    3,947
    Country
    This is Agathon's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 23, 2014
    Local Time
    02:40
    I found a pic of Classic working. As you can see it looks just like the old OS 9 because it is the old OS 9. If you were running Civ II you would see what you always see just with the OS x desktop and Dock.

    If you clicked the desktop or an OS X app the only thing that would happen is that the menubar at the top would assume the OS X look. But if you selected the Classic app again it would switch back to the OS 9 menubar. It works seamlessly.

    Here's a guy using his Newton software in Classic.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Only feebs vote.

  21. #51
    FlameFlash
    Emperor FlameFlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    6,461
    Country
    This is FlameFlash's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    You still have a Newton?
    I'm not conceited, conceit is a fault and I have no faults...

    As always, will play after work. I wonder if I'll ever be able to turn that the other way...

  22. #52
    Kuciwalker
    Deity Kuciwalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Feb 2001
    Posts
    19,417
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    13:40
    /me remembers a certain long thread a while ago concerning threadjacks of this type

  23. #53
    FlameFlash
    Emperor FlameFlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    6,461
    Country
    This is FlameFlash's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    The question of Classic working or not (coming preinstalled on new Macs), and CivII being in Classic should and does cause great concern here... where else should it go?
    I'm not conceited, conceit is a fault and I have no faults...

    As always, will play after work. I wonder if I'll ever be able to turn that the other way...

  24. #54
    Gatekeeper
    King Gatekeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Feb 2000
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2,371
    Country
    This is Gatekeeper's Country Flag
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    ARGH! I *knew* it! I *knew* it would happen!

    OS X TIGER.

    Augh! Another update! Probably a payable upgrade, too.

    Gatekeeper

    P.S. I know all the new iMacs come with Classic pre-installed, but don't you still have to pick up and install a copy of OS9.x in order for Classic to run older programs such as Civ II?
    "I may not agree with what you have to say, but I'll die defending your right to say it." Voltaire

    "Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart." Confucius

  25. #55
    Agathon
    Emperor Agathon's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Dec 2002
    Location
    Wal supports the CPA
    Posts
    3,947
    Country
    This is Agathon's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 23, 2014
    Local Time
    02:40
    No. Civ II will run just fine in the classic environment. The Classic Environment just is OS 9. You don't need to install it, it is already there. The only thing you can't do anymore is choose the OS 9 System Folder as your startup disk.

    Say for example, I reinstalled 9 and wanted to use it to run Civ II. Because I have an older mac I could either run it in the Classic environment or select OS 9 as my startup OS and reboot the machine. In both cases the computer will use the same OS 9 system folder.

    You can't do that with newer macs, but it doesn't matter since you don't need to reboot into OS 9 proper to play games. I know that Civ II and SMAC work because I played them when I still had Classic. No installation is required AFAIK and if it is, you will find that the Classic Environment is contained on the disks that come with every Macintosh.

    PS. The screenshot isn't mine, just someone who still has a Newton.
    Only feebs vote.

  26. #56
    FlameFlash
    Emperor FlameFlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    6,461
    Country
    This is FlameFlash's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40


    I think it's finally straightened out... thanks.

    (too bad, I'd like to ask how one was... have a palm myself.)
    I'm not conceited, conceit is a fault and I have no faults...

    As always, will play after work. I wonder if I'll ever be able to turn that the other way...

  27. #57
    Gatekeeper
    King Gatekeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Feb 2000
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2,371
    Country
    This is Gatekeeper's Country Flag
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    12:40
    Agathon, et al.:

    Hmm. So I could pick up a 1.25 GH 20" LCD iMac for $2194 today, pop in the Civ II CD, load the software and then launch it without having to buy an OS9.x CD and installing the older OS itself?

    Gatekeeper
    "I may not agree with what you have to say, but I'll die defending your right to say it." Voltaire

    "Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart." Confucius

  28. #58
    Agathon
    Emperor Agathon's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Dec 2002
    Location
    Wal supports the CPA
    Posts
    3,947
    Country
    This is Agathon's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 23, 2014
    Local Time
    02:40
    Yes.
    Only feebs vote.

  29. #59
    Agathon
    Emperor Agathon's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Dec 2002
    Location
    Wal supports the CPA
    Posts
    3,947
    Country
    This is Agathon's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 23, 2014
    Local Time
    02:40
    I'd advise you to take your Civ II disk to the store and ask if you can try it out, just to put your mind at ease.

    What will happen is that you will launch the installer, Classic will start (because the installer is a Classic app) and it will direct you to install it in the OS 9 apps folder. Once it's done you shove the Civ II icon in the Dock and Bob's your uncle.

    Do try it out at the shop. They'll let you do it if you make it clear that the sale counts on it.
    Only feebs vote.

  30. #60
    blackgryffin
    Warlord blackgryffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Sep 2003
    Posts
    160
    Country
    This is blackgryffin's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    17:40
    maybe it's inapropriate ... but if i'm ok to say it's good to support all strategy turn based games, as a fanatic mac user, i question myself about why such a question : "is civ2 graphically better than the windows version"
    WOW !!! SUCH A QUESTION !!!

    is it important ? is it the only trophee mac users argue ? the better display on our platform ??? HEY guys ! civ2 is a very good OLD game ( and mac or pc, the graphics are OLD too ! ) but where are the mac users to talk about the lack of support of civ3 add ons, the fact that we'll never see CTP2 on macintosh, how many of us can play a ctp mp game online with others guys, even pc users ( big majority around ) and where are the mac users to fight for getting stuff of all these strategy games we can't have ?

    i read until my eyes getting red all threads concerning the ctp2 source code project and i saw NOT ONE macuser there ... linux and macX are both unix platforms ( even it's different ) and we still play on classic and macos9 !!!

    ok : we have civ3 but thats all ... no addons, no multiplayers games for us !

    i posted 2 weeks ago a simple question : are mac ctp users around ? and not yet ONE answered ...

    good to argue about our better graphic display ... but SO ??? is that giving us more ? even here in the macintosh forum, where are the mac users ? is the mac spirit condamned to only remains the past ?

    Last edited by blackgryffin; July 25, 2004 at 10:46.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Windows version to play Civilization 5
    By CravenA in forum Civilization V: General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 15, 2010, 09:25
  2. Col: Windows version Map Editor
    By awckie in forum Civilization Series General: Past and Future
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 2, 2003, 18:08
  3. Windows version fixed
    By Thue in forum Freeciv
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 14, 2000, 10:30
  4. Non-multiplayer Windows version?
    By DaveV in forum Freeciv
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 25, 2000, 17:58
  5. So I have the Windows version
    By Kyle in forum Freeciv
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: July 12, 2000, 14:59

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions